Development plans for North West villages take shape after two-day indaba...

The North West Province has begun the process of drawing up specific and systematic development plans for each and every village, township and small dorpie – a move that will enable the province to move swiftly in addressing the triple challenges of poverty, unemployment and equality, while repositioning, rebranding and renewing the province at the same time.


This follows a two-day workshop which was convened in Rustenburg from the 11th to the 12th of February 2016.


According to Rural, Environmental and Agricultural Development MEC Manketse Tlhape, the plans will enable the provincial administration to move with the necessary speed in developing the province in line with its five concretes namely, Agriculture, Culture and Tourism (ACT), Reconciliation, Healing and Renewal (RHR), Villages, Township, and Small Dorpies (VTSD) Setsokotsane and Saamwerk-Saamtrek philosophy.


“The 5th Administration of the North West Province initiated the five concretes which are essentially embedded in the National Development Plan and the Constitution because they deal with issues of economic development, equality, poverty and unemployment.


“We are glad that our civil servants have embraced these five concretes,” said MEC Tlhape who also lauded the role of Community Development Workers.

Speaking at the end of the workshop earlier today, Gordon Kegakilwe of the Provincial Planning Commission said he was very pleased that the workshop achieved what it set out to do.


“The people we convened now understand the five concretes of the 5th administration as key drivers of the economy. They also grasped the VTSD concept which was key for this workshop. They thoroughly understand the role of Reconciliation, Healing and Renewal (RHR) and Setsokotsane.


“Most importantly, we have been able to develop village plans. We now have sample plans for three villages per municipality and we will ensure that by the end of June we have completed plans for all the .767 villages, 72 townships and 23 small dorpies,” said the elated Kegakilwe.


Workshop delegates included Community Development Workers, representatives from all municipalities, provincial departments and state-owned entities such as South African Local Government Association (SALGA), South African Social Security Agency (SASSA), Statistics South Africa and North West Housing Corporation.


The workshop was facilitated by the Provincial Director-General Dr Lydia Sebego.