Wednesday, 20 July 2022

Mahikeng – As part of the Provincial Accelerated Service Delivery Plan to rid the
province of the scourge of recurring potholes, the North West Provincial Government
through the Department of Public Works and Roads has launched a Zero Tolerance
Drive Against Potholes. Over R120 million has been set aside for the project which is
currently in full swing in all four districts of the municipality.
Premier of the North West Premier Kaobitsa Bushy Maape has lauded the initiative.
He maintains service delivery must top the agenda of government as this will create
a conducive environment for business thrive. This has the potential to lead to job
creation and fight the challenges of unemployment and poverty.
“We are taking an approach of zero tolerance against potholes in our provincial roads
across all four districts. The maintenance of this infrastructure will unlock various
economic opportunities for locals as well as attracting investment. Once investments
trickles in we’ll be able to respond to challenges of poverty and unemployment
confronting our communities” said Premier Maape.
MEC for Roads and Public Works Gaoage Molapisi insists the initiative also seeks to
give impetus to the District Development Model where different spheres of
government pull all resources to address service delivery challenges in the province.
“The department has crafted a programme and collaborated with municipalities to
systematically deal with potholes in all provincial roads and municipal roads. Over
forty rehabilitation, potholes patching, resealing, re-gravelling, and blading projects
Let’s Grow North West Together
will be undertaken to improve the quality of our road infrastructure network” said
MEC Molapisi.
The roads earmarked for the initiative include;
• D2541 Mooibank road in the JB Marks Local Municipality.
• P 137/1 at Khuma in the City of Klerksdorp Local Municipality.
• P 50/1 from Moruleng to Legkraal in Moses Kotane Local Municipality.
• P 117/1 and R507 Voortrekker Road in Tswaing Local Municipality.
Furthermore, a total of 295,8 kilometers in Kagisano Molopo Local Municipality will
be patched. This includes 141 kilometers in Naledi Local Municipality as well 162
kilometers in Greater Taung Local Municipality. And a further 196 kilometers in
Mamusa and Lekwa-Teemane Local Municipalities.
Thirty-four projects will be outsourced for rehabilitation and maintenance. Yellow fleet, in
terms of machinery and equipment have already started with work in the four districts of
the province. The project is envisaged to conclude its work by end of September 2022.
Issued by Office of the Premier
For enquiries, contact
Sello Tatai
Spokesperson to the Premier
North West Provincial Government
Cell: 064 756 2510/082 450 7842